• You Are Here:
  • Home
  • Fixtures & Results - 2011

Fixtures & Results 2011 - ACHL Div 3

ACHL Div 3
24 Sep 2011
Con Magees Glenravel 1-11 v 1-09 Rasharkin

Glenravel beat Rasharkin by two

Con Magees Glenravel played host to St.Mary's Rasharkin in the final Division three league game of the season, the visitors collected both points in the league encounter at Dreen back in May but there was more at stake this time round. Potentially either side could join Cushendun Emmetts in the journey south to Division four, Glenravel trailed Rasharkin by two points so a home win here would leave both sides on thirteen points, however, St.Mary's held the advantage with a superior score difference.

The home side got off to a brilliant start and had the ball in the back of the Rasharkin net inside the first two minutes with a great effort from Ronan McCann. Glenravel wing half forward Niall Donnelly fired over a pointed free a minute later to open up an early four point lead. St.Mary's team Captain Thomas McMullan lead by example, he collected the resultant puck out and returned over the Glenravel crossbar to open his sides account. Conor Hasson split the posts a minute later for Rasharkin with an impressive fifty yard strike before corner forward Aidan Darragh slotted over a free to reduce the deficit to a point.

Niall Donnelly doubled the home side's lead with a free after eight minutes before Aidan Darragh catapulted Rasharkin into the lead when he lifted the roof of the Glenravel net after ten minutes. Damien McGaughey turned over a Glenravel attack to win possession; he launched a dangerous ball to the edge of the square where Darragh flicked beyond Paul O'Hagan on the line. Neil McCann pulled the tie all square when he raised the white flag for Con Magees a minute later.

Aidan Darragh for Rasharkin and Neil McCann for Glenravel exchanged two frees each midway through the half, before Declan McKay fired over the score of the game from eighty yards at the twenty minute mark to nudge St.Mary's in front once more. Match referee Liam Donnelly sent Glenravel full forward Shanlee Kerr for an early shower after twenty five minutes for an incident off the ball. Damien McGaughey grabbed the last score of the half for Rasharkin to send his team in at half time with a two point cushion 1-7 to 1-5.

Rasharkin centre forward Shane Hasson got his name on the score sheet after six minutes of the second half and open a three point lead. However, McCann for Glenravel notched over a fifty yard effort three minutes later, the same player reduced the Rasharkin lead to the minimum following a point from the set piece. St.Mary's Aidan Darragh took his personal return to 1-4 when he lobbed over a free midway through the half.

The closing ten minutes belonged to Con Magees as they went from two down to win by two all from the stick of centre forward Neil McCann.

The vistors played over half the game with numerical advantage did have chances throughout to put the match beyond Glenravel, but the home side had other ideas and dug deep in the closing exchanges to secure both points. Final score 1-11 to 1-9.

Joey Quinn, Brendan McMullan, Paul McMullan and Damien McGaughey were the pick of the Rasharkin defence, Thomas McMullan and Declan McKay led from the middle as up front Aidan Darragh, Duirmuid Quinn and Conor Hasson were the forwards to curtail.

The home side can feel proud of the efforts by Paul Hughes, Declan McBride, Willy Hughes, James Scullion, Niall Donnelly, Ronan McCann and Neil McCann who put in a man of the match performance finishing on a personal tally of nine points.

Rasharkin: James O'Mullan, Daniel Hasson, Joey Quinn, Paul McMullan, Daniel McKay, Brendan McMullan, Damien McGaughey, Thomas McMullan (Capt) and Declan McKay, Brendan Crawford, Conor Hasson, Shane Hasson, Donagh Quigg, Duirmuid Quinn and Aidan Darragh

Subs: Kevin Agnew, Michael Hardy, Eugene McCart and Cormac Hasson.

Glenravel: Paul O'Hagan, Damien O'Hagan, Paul Hughes, Fergus Miskelly, Declan McBride, Conor Donnelly, William Hughes (Capt), James Scullion and Paddy O'Neill, Niall Donnelly, Neil McCann, Cormac Scullion, Chris McCann, Shanlee Kerr and Ronan McCann

Subs: Ciaran McKeown, Declan Traynor, Conor McNeill and Brian O'Neill

Referee: Liam Donnelly (All Saints Ballymena)