• You Are Here:
  • Home
  • Fixtures & Results - 2012

Fixtures & Results 2012 - ACHL Div 3

ACHL Div 3
11 Apr 2012
Shane O'Neills 4-12 v 2-24 Rasharkin

Superb display as Rasharkin hurlers start on full points


The 2012 Hurling season started with a gallant display of hurling, determination and sportsmanship at Feystown on Wednesday evening, both teams deserve credit for a brilliant free flowing display.

Having been relegated from Division Two last season Shane O’Neill’s Glenarm made the journey south to the third division and it was the Glensmen who would be St.Mary’s first opponents of the league campaign 2012. Glenarm having home advantage in this midweek game would start this fixture with the favourites tag although each club would want to collect maximum points early in the league.


Aidan Darragh started the scoring inside the first minute for Rasharkin when he coolly slotted over a thirty yard free. Niall Hamill equalised for the home side two minutes later, before Philip Quinn pushed St.Mary’s in front after four. Michael Abral for Glenarm and Eamon McNeill for Rasharkin exchanged points before Niall Hamill bagged the first goal of the evening from a sixty five yard free for Shane O’Neill’s after eight minutes. The visitor’s response was swift when Duirmuid Quinn and Aidan Darragh pointed minutes later and the tie was all square. Hamill slotted a sixty five yard free to give O’Neill’s the lead for the first time.


Rasharkin quickly moved up the gears midway through the first half when they scored six without reply to go from one down to five up with points from Philip Quinn, Brendan McMullan, Duirmuid Quinn, Aidan Darragh and two from Eamon McNeill. Glenarm’s county star Darren Hamill converted his sides second goal after twenty minutes to reduce the deficit to two. Eamon McNeill and Conor McKeever increased that lead to four for the visitor’s before Darren Hamill grabbed a point five minutes before half time.


Duirmuid Quinn crashed home a superb goal for Rasharkin a minute later before Aidan Darragh and Eamon McNeill increased St.Mary’s grip to eight points as half time beckoned. The home side finished the first half with a point from Niall Hamill and a second goal for Darren Hamill to leave halftime score 1-15 to 3-5, a four point cushion for Rasharkin.


Referee Tommy McIntyre got the second half underway, and St.Mary’s started strongly with three points in as many minutes from Duirmuid Quinn, Conor McKeever (converted 65) and that man McNeill again. Rasharkin’s Aiddy Scullion blazed the ball invitingly across the square only for Aidan Darragh to lift the Glenarm net and effectively finish the tie to open up a ten point lead for St.Mary’s. However, back came Glenarm with their fourth goal coming from the stick of Phil Craig, this followed by points from Conal Ward, Niall Hamill, Michael Abral and Conor Barkley reduced Rasharkin’s hold to three with ten minutes on the clock.


The visitors rose to the challenge and pegged off two points in three minutes from Daniel Doherty and Eamon McNeill, Aidan Darragh took his personal tally to an impressive 1-5 when his converted a free five minutes from time. Ronan Matthews and Niall Hamill returned points for Glenarm but Rasharkin showed more hunger second half substitute Decky McKay got his name on the team sheet before man of the man Eamon McNeill very fittingly finished the scoring and took his return to a staggering eight points.


This was a very entertaining game and a great start to build on for St.Mary’s well done to both sides.


Rasharkin: Brendan Kelly , Paul McMullan (Capt), Joey Quinn, James O’Mullan, Daniel Hasson, Conor McKeever, Damien McGaughey, Daniel Doherty and Thomas McMullan, Philip Quinn, Brendan McMullan, Duirmuid Quinn, Aidan Darragh, Eamon McNeill and Aiddy Scullion


Subs: Decky McKay, Michael Hardy and Shane Doherty.


Shane O’Neill’s Glenarm: Conor McNeill, Rory Mulvenna, Ronan Matthews, Kieran Mulvenna, Mick Callagh, Kieran McCormick, Jke Hamilton, Paddy McAuley, Conal Ward, Niall Hamill, Kevin Cottrell (Capt), Michael Abral, Conor Barkley, Darren Hamill and Phil Craig


Subs: Liam Mulvenna, Liam O’Neill and Kieran Matthews

 Referee: Tommy McIntyre (Loughgiel Shamrocks)